Book Reviews

Review Roundup – November 16th to 22nd, 2020

I stepped away from my HEAs to try something with a harder kick.

This week, I finished OIivia Gaines’ Modern Mail Order Bride series, and finally got around to reading Grown .

The Tennessee Mountain Man by Olivia Gaines

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Khloe Burgess had the worst luck, I mean THE WORST. So bad that her saving grace was the matchmaker that found her literally on the street. But when Khloe finds herself matching with Beau Montgomery her bad luck turns around.

I appreciate that Gaines doesn’t waste your time with extra drama and unnecessary filler. These relationships may move a bit fast, but they make sense, and that’s really all one can ask for.

I feel like Gaines is truly becoming a guilty pleasure for me. I find her books to be escapes, and I like that she makes a point to do something different every time.

I recommend this entire series to anyone who likes a good escape.



View all my reviews

Stranded in Arizona by Olivia Gaines

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Kevia Caplan has been watching over her sister for 21 years. So when said sister decides to become a mail order bride, Kevia follows if only to make sure her sister doesn’t get murdered or raped. Except this adventure might be an eye opener for Kevia, who might just find the man of her dreams.

Finishing this book means that I’m all the way caught up with Olivia Gaines’ Modern Mail Order Bride series, and I must say that it’s been a fun ride. As I’ve said before, I appreciate Gaines’ ability to create new and interesting characters as the series goes on. I even like how she manages to tie some of them back into each other.

I don’t blame Kevia for wanting to beat the crap out of her sister. As interesting as that adventure was, there was nothing to stop it from going horribly wrong. I also thought Brecklin’s aversion to guns should have been a bigger issue, but it was very well handled.

I recommend this series to anyone who likes the building of relationships between people who KNOW they want to be together. It’s not always sunshine and roses, but it is the warmth that strengthens marriages and makes them last.



View all my reviews

Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Enchanted Jones just wants to be a star. Kory Fields wants to take advantage of that.

This book has recommended up and down all of the black girl book groups I’ve been in so far this year, and I’ve had it on my phone for something like three weeks. Like the author says, this is not the R. Kelly story, but it borrows heavily for basis. Kory Fields is like a mix of Kelly, Usher, Justin Beiber, and maybe Michael Jackson, if only for the loss of childhood.

Even now, I still feel like everyone failed Enchanted. Her parents by not supporting her dreams from jump, and then not carefully reading the legal documents presented to them. Her best friend for ghosting her and never telling her her “government” name. Her Will and Willow chapter for just being trash rich teenagers. Enchanted failed herself at points, but these people should have been able to catch her.

I love that Kory presented himself as someone who knew better. Even to the point of saying that he would never do the things that he ultimately ended up doing. I love that that was a theme in the book that showed up with more than just Kory.

I binged this audiobook in a way that I did not expect. I just could not stop listening. It’s a hard listen (or read) at some points, but it’s well worth it.



View all my reviews


If you would like to keep up with me and my adventures in appreciating the many different types of literature, please be sure to subscribe to this blog. If you just want to chat with me about these particular novels, make sure to hit me up in the comment section.

Leave a comment