Book Reviews Reviews and Recommendations

#FridayReads – Bianca Pensy Aba’s Across Both Sides of the Mirror

Bianca Pensy Aba uses elements of Fantasy to have a conversation about life stagnancy and depression.

Do you ever want to know what life would be like if you had done something different? If you had a cooler comeback or jumped on a chance that you originally didn’t think much of? Sometimes it can be really easy to get caught up in the what-ifs, but, ultimately, what’s done is done and we just need to move forward. 

In Across Both Sides of the Mirror, Nova Wright’s life has become terribly stagnant. When a magic mirror gives her the chance to experience what could be, Nova jumps at the chance to be a better version of herself. However, will Nova be able to return to reality once she’s experienced life on the other side? 

First thing’s first, the Romance here should be written with a little ‘r’. It meets the criteria for a Happy For Now, but only by the skin of its teeth. Across Both Sides of the Mirror is ultimately General Fiction with elements of Fantasy. I don’t think that that takes away from the book, but, as a Romance girlie, these things are important to me. 

It starts slow, but I ended up enjoying the novel. The magic mirror portions did a lot of the heavy lifting for the plot, but it was to be expected. Once those parts are over, the wait for the book to end is a bit tedious. I understand why though. 

Bianca Pensy Aba uses elements of Fantasy to have a conversation about life stagnancy and depression. Nova Wright’s journey from letting life happen to her to actively making things happen is a necessary exploration. It was especially cathartic for me. 

Watching Nova go from an almost idyllic life to what felt like a depressing reality got harder and harder every time she made the switch. I kept wanting to yell at her about how things on the other side were not real life, but I could not help but sympathize with her reasons for wanting to stay there. 

I think that Pensy Aba’s ability to blatantly have that conversation without preaching to her audience is her strength. I appreciated Nova being able to see everything from both sides and ultimately making the right choice for her. Do I wish that we could have explored the Mami Wata situation more? Yes, but it’s honestly nothing that Pensy Aba cannot learn from going forward. 

If you like Myths applied in a Contemporary setting, Found Family, and Slice of Life, then this book is for you. 


If you would like to keep up with me and my adventures in appreciating the many different types of literature, please be sure to subscribe to this blog. If you just want to chat with me about this particular novel, make sure to hit me up in the comment section.

Leave a comment