Book Reviews

Review Roundup – Janaury 3rd to 10th, 2021

This week, I read a ton of short stories.

This week, I got into some novellas. Kristi Tailor gives does something different with the concept, and Amazon tries it’s hand at fairy tales.

The Prince and the Troll by Rainbow Rowell

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


I Guess

This one was a little too abstract for me. I loved that they fell in love, but I was just as lost as Adam as to what was really going on with the Road and the troll.





View all my reviews

A Winter’s Kiss by Kristi Tailor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


A Quick Read

Charlotte Toutant had been running for years from the embarrassment of finding her sister with her fiancé. So when she returns home with her best friend Nick, she has to pretend they’re together to save face. But Charlotte and Nick have been hiding their own feelings for a while.

I couldn’t put this one down, and finished it super quickly. I got it as an ARC from Bookfunnel and didn’t really expect to like it as much as I did.

I would say that I don’t like the shortness, but it seems to work for this series. I’m invested in these characters and willing to see where this goes.

I definitely recommend it.



View all my reviews

A Winter’s Promise by Kristi Tailor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Charlotte Toutant is caught in a lie and begging her best friend, Nick Elliot, to keep it going for her. Thing is, this lie is way too big, and Charlotte and Nick really aren’t on the same page. Can they keep it together?

This book is hella dramatic. Hella dramatic. Almost too dramatic for my blood at moments. Nicholas’ parents are a trip and a half, I don’t know what to do with them.

Blythe is a whole bitch, and I can’t see that situation NOT blowing up in Nick’s face. I don’t know why Todd came back, but his trash ass need to stay gone.

This is a whole soap opera, and God bless Kristi Tailor for bothering to write it this way.



View all my reviews

A Winter’s Vow by Kristi Tailor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Wow

Charlotte Toutant’s life is finally on track! She’s engaged to the man of her dreams, and it’s not a lie. Except … there’s a creepy stalker, and Nick has some lies of his own.

I didn’t realize that I was at the end of the book until I’d already gotten there. This one was a big surprise.

I’m not surprised about Blithe, I saw that coming a mile away, but Dean? Dean, I really didn’t expect.

I am invested. Kristi Tailor got me hooked.



View all my reviews

A Winter’s Secret by Kristi Tailor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Still Here

Charlotte Elliot rushes back to New York to be there for her husband. For what? She doesn’t know, but she’s about to find out.

Another reviewer grumbled about the decision to have Charlotte not go back to Nick before the book ended. I totally get their frustration, but I can’t say Tailor was wrong to do it. We’re all still invested, but I can’t take another book of that.

This is definitely no longer Charlotte’s story, but we have to talk about Todd and Marguerite at some point.



View all my reviews

A Winter’s Seduction by Kristi Tailor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


How Does She Do It?

Charlotte Elliot is finally going to try again, but it’s not going to be an easy road.

I’m starting to get annoyed with Charlotte, but she’s very human. She holds grudges though, very long.

This new info about Santiago? I need to see how it plays out. I know it’s going somewhere, but I want to know where that somewhere is.

Also, Spencer Elliot is the worst.



View all my reviews

Hazel and Gray by Nic Stone

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Pretty Good

I think that this was a very interesting retelling of Hansel and Gretel.

I wasn’t too much a fan of the person reading the story, but I liked the story itself.



View all my reviews

The Princess Game by Soman Chainani

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Wow

Possibly the best short of this whole series. I didn’t know what to do with it at first, and I knew it was going to get messy, but My God that ending was beautiful.

Callum Peterson got caught up, and I felt bad for him, but I saw that coming a mile away. Flynn was just trash, and I didn’t want it to be Naveen, but he was trash too.

I need Amazon to go ahead and film these.



View all my reviews

The Cleaners by Ken Liu

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Hmm

I found the is one to be an interesting retelling of the Princess and the Pea.

I liked the introspectiveness of it. Gi and the youngest sister sitting at opposite ends of the same phenomenon, and then Clara smack dab in the middle of it seemed like an awesome way to make use of the original story.





View all my reviews

The Wickeds by Gayle Forman

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


Had Good Potential

To be fair, this story had great potential, I just wasn’t a fan of the ending.

Ultimately Gwendolyn’s biological daughters are still blind, and the princesses still destroyed their mothers’ reputations. I guess, after all of the clarity, everyone is ready to forgive, but I just don’t buy it. Bratty teenagers don’t change in the course of five minutes.

I enjoyed this series, though, so I would happily recommend it for others.



View all my reviews


If you would like to keep up with me and my adventures in appreciating the many different types of literature, please be sure to subscribe to this blog. If you just want to chat with me about these particular novels, make sure to hit me up in the comment section.

Leave a comment